FedNow Service
FedNowACTIVEOperator: Federal Reserve Banks
Overseer: Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Legal basis: Federal Reserve Act, Federal Reserve Operating Circular No. 8, Regulation J (Subpart C)
Launched: Jul 20, 2023
1,889 participating financial institutions
Participants
Aug 31, 2026 · Federal Reserve Financial Services
Executive Summary
FedNow is the Federal Reserve's instant payment service, launched in July 2023 to enable US financial institutions to send and receive payments 24/7/365 with immediate settlement in central bank money. It represents the most significant addition to US payment infrastructure in decades. FedNow competes with The Clearing House's RTP network, creating a dual-rail instant payment landscape unique among major economies. Adoption is growing rapidly, with over 1,500 participants as of March 2026.
How It Works
Settlement Model
Real-Time Gross Settlement in central bank money (Federal Reserve balances)
Message Standard
ISO 20022 (native from launch)
Max Transaction
$10,000,000 (raised from initial $500,000 limit, individual FIs may set lower limits)
Clearing Mechanism
Direct RTGS — FedNow settles each transaction individually in central bank money, no netting
Settlement Cycle
Continuous 24/7/365 — no batch windows, no cut-off times
Message Flow
The sender's financial institution submits a credit transfer message to the FedNow Service. FedNow validates the message, checks the sender's Federal Reserve account for sufficient funds, and simultaneously debits the sender and credits the receiver. The receiver's institution is notified in real time. End-to-end target: 20 seconds. Settlement is immediate and final in central bank money.
Typical Use Cases
Business-to-business instant payments, payroll on demand, insurance claim payouts, e-commerce, account-to-account transfers, government disbursements
Key Data
Participants
1,889 participating financial institutions
As of Aug 31, 2026 · Federal Reserve Financial Services
Participants & Access
Membership Requirements
Open to depository institutions with Federal Reserve master accounts. Participation through direct connection to FedNow Service via FedLine. Service providers may connect on behalf of financial institutions.
Governance & Risk
Governance Model
Operated by the Federal Reserve Banks under Board of Governors authority. Operating Circular No. 8 governs terms. Regulation J Subpart C provides legal framework. Industry feedback through FedNow Community engagement.
Concentration Risk
Low counterparty risk (settlement in central bank money). Operational concentration on Federal Reserve infrastructure, which has very high reliability standards.
Resilience & Business Continuity
Federal Reserve infrastructure with multi-site redundancy. 24/7 operational monitoring. Designed for 99.99%+ availability.
Dispute Resolution
Governed by Operating Circular No. 8. Request for Payment (RFP) feature enables payee-initiated flows. No chargeback mechanism — disputes are bilateral between sender and receiver institutions.
Pricing
FedNow pricing is designed to encourage adoption. Core participant fee plus per-transaction charges. From January 1, 2027 the FedNow Service 2027 Discount Program offers one-time statement credits of $5,000 to $20,000 for receive-enabled institutions and $20,000 to $80,000 for send-enabled institutions, with the top tiers requiring participation in the FedACH Receipt Discount Program and monthly send-volume qualification.
Transaction fee: $0.045 per credit transfer (2024 fee schedule)
Participation fee: $25/month (core participant fee)
Connectivity
operated alongside
Fedwire
Same operator (Federal Reserve), same master accounts, complementary services
operated alongside
FedACH / Nacha
FedACH provides batch alternative; some FedNow participants also use Same-Day ACH
Peer Comparison
FedNow competes directly with RTP (TCH) in the US market — an unusual dual-rail arrangement. FedNow settles in central bank money (like TIPS in Europe), while RTP settles in commercial bank money (like RT1). FedNow's per-transaction fee ($0.045) is lower than RTP. FedNow is newer (2023 vs 2017) but growing faster. Compared to SEPA Inst, FedNow is single-country rather than pan-European.
RTP
FPS · United States · The Clearing House (TCH)
SEPA Inst
FPS · Eurozone · EPC / RT1 / TIPS
Faster Payments
FPS · United Kingdom · Pay.UK
Timeline
Stored date Jan 1, 2027; precision not reviewed
FedNow subsystem record updated
FedNow subsystem record updated.
SourceStored date Sep 23, 2026; precision not reviewed
FedNow subsystem record updated
FedNow subsystem record changed from Federal Reserve Board formally proposed payment accounts on May 20, 2026 (6-1 vote), enabling eligible non-bank financial institutions to access FedNow and Fedwire for clearing and settling payments.
SourceStored date Sep 14, 2026; precision not reviewed
FedNow participant count increased to 1,901 (Sep 14, 2026)
FedNow participant count changed from 1,897 (Sep 8, 2026) to 1,901 (Sep 14, 2026). Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-17.
SourceStored date Sep 14, 2026; precision not reviewed
FedNow participant count increased to 1,901 participating financial institutions
FedNow participant count changed from 1,600+ participants (as of 2026-03-16) to 1,901 participating financial institutions (as of 2026-09-14). Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-17.
SourceStored date Sep 8, 2026; precision not reviewed
FedNow participant count increased to 1,897 (Sep 8, 2026)
FedNow participant count changed from 1,889 (Aug 31, 2026) to 1,897 (Sep 8, 2026). Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-13.
SourceStored date Aug 31, 2026; precision not reviewed
FedNow participant count increased to 1,889 (Aug 31, 2026)
FedNow participant count changed from 1,800+ (July 2026) to 1,889 (Aug 31, 2026). Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-07.
SourceStored date Aug 31, 2026; precision not reviewed
FedNow subsystem record increased to 1,889 participating financial institutions
FedNow subsystem record changed from 1,800+ participants (as of 2026-07-06) to 1,889 participating financial institutions (as of 2026-08-31). Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-07.
SourceStored date Apr 28, 2026; precision not reviewed
Reference document updated: FedNow Service Operating Procedures
https://www.frbservices.org/binaries/content/assets/crsocms/resources/rules-regulations/042826-fednow-service-operating-procedures.pdf. Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-08.
SourceStored date Jan 5, 2026; precision not reviewed
New document version recorded: Federal Reserve Operating Circular No. 8 (FedNow Service)
Version January 2026, effective 2026-01-05. Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-17.
SourceDate not specified
Reference document updated: FedNow Service Operating Procedures
2026-09-16 (previously 2026-09-15). Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-17.
SourceDate not specified
Reference document updated: Federal Reserve Operating Circular No. 8 (FedNow Service)
2026-09-16 (previously 2026-09-15). Recorded by ClearingPost on 2026-09-17.
SourceIntelligence (24)
NewsSep 28, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
FedNow Will Support Cross-Border Transactions, Federal Reserve Financial Services Says
The international portion of each transaction will continue to travel through established correspondent banking arrangements.
External source · PYMNTS
NewsSep 7, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
Federal Reserve Sets FedNow Statement Credits of Up to $80,000 From January 1, 2027
The largest credits are reserved for institutions that enable FedNow send and also participate in the FedACH Receipt Discount Program.
Operator source · Federal Reserve Financial Services
NewsAug 29, 2026Summary names “FedNow”
Richmond Fed: US Instant Payments at 0.12 Per Capita, Far Behind Global Peers
Three years after FedNow launched, a Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond study finds that combined US instant payment volume amounts to less than one transaction per person every eight months, far short of adoption levels in leading Asian and Latin American markets.
External source · Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
AnalysisAug 18, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
FedNow at Three: Volume Nearly Doubles as Smaller Payments Drive Growth
Three years after launch, FedNow's quarterly transaction count jumped 83% to nearly five million in Q2 2026 while total settled value barely moved. The drop in average payment size from $99,000 to $55,000 points to a system expanding beyond early large-value adopters into routine commercial payments.
Operator source · Federal Reserve Financial Services
NewsJul 20, 2026Summary names “FedNow”
ASC X9 Publishes First US QR Code Payment Standard
The Accredited Standards Committee X9 released X9.150, creating a common framework for merchant-presented QR codes that can initiate push payments across FedNow, RTP, ACH, and emerging digital payment rails in the United States.
External source · PYMNTS
NewsJul 15, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
FedNow Average Payment Falls to $55,000 in Q2 2026 as Transaction Count Surges 83%
Federal Reserve quarterly data reveals FedNow's average payment size dropped 45% to $54,957 in Q2 2026, down from $99,414 the prior quarter. Total volume surged 83% to nearly five million transactions, though aggregate value of $274.7 billion barely budged from Q1.
Operator source · Federal Reserve Financial Services
NewsJul 10, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
FedNow Surpasses 1,800 Participants Ahead of Third Anniversary
In 2025, FedNow settled $853.4 billion across 8.4 million transactions. First-quarter 2026 activity reached 2.7 million transactions valued at $271.3 billion.
External source · Digital Transactions
NewsJul 3, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
FedNow Surpasses 1,800 Participants With $853 Billion in 2025 Settled Value
The Federal Reserve's instant payment service now includes more than 1,800 financial institutions, adding roughly 200 since January 2026. Full-year 2025 data shows 8.4 million settled payments worth $853.4 billion, representing 459% volume growth over 2024.
Operator source · Federal Reserve Financial Services
AnalysisJun 12, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
US Instant Payments Settle Combined $751 Billion in Q1 2026 as FedNow and RTP Diverge on Payment Size
RTP's volume lead remains wide. Its single-day record of 2.27 million transactions on May 1 exceeded FedNow's Q1 daily average of 30,317 by a factor of 75. FedNow's value trajectory, however, is extraordinary: the $271.
Operator source · Federal Reserve Financial Services
AnalysisMay 27, 2026Headline names “FedNow”
Three US Policy Tracks Converge on Non-Bank Access to Fedwire and FedNow
A White House executive order, a Federal Reserve Board rulemaking, and bipartisan legislation are independently advancing non-bank access to Fed payment services, creating the most concrete pressure for structural change since the 2023 master account guidelines.
External source · White House
Wider coverage that mentions FedNow (4)
These articles mention FedNow in their text but not in their headline or summary, so they are listed as context rather than as FedNow intelligence.
Jul 2, 2026Text mentions “FedNow”
House Financial Services Committee Debates Fintech Access to Federal Reserve Payment Systems
External source · House Financial Services Committee
Jun 26, 2026Text mentions “FedNow”
House Financial Services Committee Debates PACE Act to Open Fed Payment Rails to Nonbanks
External source · Office of Rep. Young Kim
May 1, 2026Text mentions “FedNow”
PACE Act Proposes Direct Federal Reserve Payment Access for Licensed Nonbank Firms
External source · PYMNTS
Mar 11, 2026Text mentions “FedNow”
RTGS, ACH, and Fast Payment Systems: A Practitioner's Guide to Payment Rails
External source · BIS CPMI
Reference Documents (2)
Federal Reserve Operating Circular No. 8 (FedNow Service)
Federal Reserve · operating_rules · vApril 2026 · Apr 1, 2026
2 versions tracked
FedNow Service Operating Procedures
Federal Reserve · operating_rules · vVersion 3.6 (April 2026) · Apr 28, 2026
2 versions tracked
Fedwire Funds ServiceFedwire
Federal Reserve Banks
Real-Time PaymentsRTP
The Clearing House (TCH)
Clearing House Interbank Payments SystemCHIPS
The Clearing House (TCH)
FedACH / ACH NetworkFedACH
Federal Reserve Banks (FedACH), Nacha (network rules)
US Payment Infrastructure OverviewUS Payments
Federal Reserve Banks (Fedwire, FedACH, FedNow), The Clearing House (CHIPS, RTP, EPN)
Zelle P2P NetworkZelle
Early Warning Services, LLC (owned by seven US banks: Bank of America, Capital One, JPMorgan Chase, PNC, Truist, U.S. Bank, Wells Fargo)
Electronic Payments NetworkEPN
The Clearing House (TCH)